#MarsWalk DONE

You know that projected completion on June 14? Forget it. I decided to cover it all today on the bike.

First of all, where’s Curiosity? Good question. In Google Mars’s Mars Gallery there’s a marker for Curiosity and a traverse path, but besides being out of date it’s offset with respect to this path by Nogal at unmannedspaceflight.com. And there’s a HiRISE/CTX Overlay Map which is offset in the opposite sense from the global Visible Imagery layer. Nogal’s path seems more compatible with the Overlay Map than any other combination, so I’ll take those as correct. And Curiosity’s moved since Sol 1711, the last on Nogal’s path, but Phil Stooke shows the position as of Sol 1720. It’s moved a few meters since then, but close enough.

I was about 20.4 km from Curiosity, so I went on mapmyride.com and drew up a route of that length.

(Yeah, MapMyRide. When I got my bike I compared Strava to MapMyRide and ended up choosing to use Strava, but today on a whim I decided to take another look at MapMyRide. I don’t know. There’s advantages to both.)

Then rode it.

First waypoint was at 8.1 km from the start, the distance to the Google Data Center. Or in reality, a pile of rocks.

Then a course correction toward east, 3.6 more km, and I arrived at the Mars Science Lander’s touchdown site, Bradbury Landing. Where one finds a goose.Then a turn back further west and toward Curiosity. Distance, 8.7 km. It’s taken Curiosity just under five years to get there. Granted, it’s spent a lot of time standing still, and didn’t go on a direct line. I spent some time standing still too.Trains? On Mars? I blame Google. Anyway, in well under five years, I arrived at my final destination.That’s it. 521 days, 3065.5 km on foot and by bike, the distance from Viking 2 to Curiosity via a couple of sights along the way. Done!

Where to next?


MarsWalk spreadsheet

MarsWalk kmz file (for Google Earth — View >> Explore >> Mars)

One thought on “#MarsWalk DONE

Comments are closed.